welcome county our villages Montlaur
   our villages
   touristic places
   history
   nature
search
   hotels
   holiday homes
   bed-and-breakfasts
   campgrounds
   sports
   tours
   walks
   restaurants
   crafts and arts
   local products
   associations
    estate agency
    commerces
    about Us
Montlaur 210 meters    522 inhabitants http://info.aude-mairie-montlaur.fr/
 
Located in the Corbières area, in the heart of the Cathar country, the village of Montlaur is in a valley defined at the North by Mount Alaric at South by the hill of La Coque. A spring in the centre of the village comes to swell the stream which meets the Orbieu River some kilometres further downstream.

Three small hills overhang the village. On these, are located (from right to left on the above picture):

- the mills of the Couscouillette, nowadays transformed into dwellings (see picture). These tithe mills are the witnesses of the affluent cereal crops (wheat, rye, oats) before the wine era. According to the archives, up to four wind and watermills were operated simultaneously which showed the prosperity of the area.

- the fort of which there are only some remaining stones.
- the mills of Bissat, nowadays transformed into dwellings.

The vestiges of the fortifications of the former castle are just visible; this walking area offers splendid panoramic views on the village, the plain and the hill of La Coque. The fort consisted of 3 forts each in the other, built in the twelfth century, on an abrupt rock, by Pierre Roger, viscount of Béziers. Montlaur was taken by Simon de Montfort in 1210. There are only a few remains left of the surrounding walls and the gate of "Bissens".

The very picturesque medieval area with its narrow winding lanes, opens to some small squares such as the square of the former town hall (Place de l’Ancienne Mairie) from which you can discover the gate of Bissens.

On the main square, the town hall (mairie), an opulent building constructed during the Third Republic in 1813, provides a fine open space together with the church and the public parks. These green areas, with a picnic corner, are pleasant meeting points, with shade in summertime. A “boulodrome” enables the “boulistes” to practise their favourite sport and to organise tournaments during summer evenings. A children’s playground has been developed which is very quickly besieged by boys and girls as soon as they leave school for the day before going back home.

Alongside, the “stream” canalised in a concrete bed, there is a walking area, where children can play and where parties are organised (dinner in the stream in July).

The village hall (foyer) provides the Montlaurais with a meeting place, where shows and sport activities take place. Close by is the youth centre (maison des jeunes) which is at the disposal of and under the responsibility of the teenagers.

 

Pays Touristique Corbières Minervois
Les idées séjours de Corbières en Minervois
Le conseil général de l'Aude
Bienvenue dans l'Aude Pays Cathare
Sud de France : Languedoc Roussillon
Préparez votre séjour en Languedoc-Roussillon sur sunfrance.com
contact | legal information | website links | website plan
© Office de tourisme de Lagrasse tous droits réservés 2010
   access plan
   contact
   newsletter
   documents
Rencontre littéraire à Lagrasse Maison du Banquet et des Générations
[Publicité] Une bouteille de Château Lalis offerte pour 11 achetées
   all news
Meteo Lagrasse
ID :

Password :
password forgotten

accueil le canton nos villages Montlaur
   nos villages
   sites touristiques
   histoire
   nature
recherche
   hôtels
   gîtes - locations
   chambres d'hôtes
   campings
   activités sportives
   visites
   promenades
   restaurants
   artisanat et arts
   producteurs
   associations
    Agences immobilières
    Commerces
Montlaur 210 mètres    522 habitants http://www.mairie-montlaur-aude.fr/
 
Géographie

Situé dans les Corbières, en plein pays cathare, le village de Montlaur se trouve dans un val délimité au nord par la montagne d’Alaric et au sud par la colline de la Coque. Une source au centre du village vient gonfler un ruisseau qui se jette quelques kilomètres plus loin dans l’Orbieu.

Trois petites collines surplombent le village. Sur celles-ci, on y trouve :

-les moulins de la Couscouillède, aujourd'hui transformés en habitations . Ces moulins banniers sont témoins des cultures céréalières abondantes (blé, seigle, avoine) avant l’explosion viticole. D’après les archives, jusqu’à quatre moulins à vent et à eau fonctionnèrent à la fois et montraient la prospérité du pays.

-le chateau-fort dont il ne reste que quelques pierres

-les moulins de Bissat, aujourd'hui transformés en habitations
 

 

 

Le Village

Si les vestiges des fortifications de l’ancienne place forte sont peu visibles, ce lieu de promenade offre de splendides vues panoramiques sur le village, la plaine et la Coque. Le chateau-fort consistait en trois forts l'un dans l'autre, bâtis au XIIe siècle, sur un rocher abrupt, par Pierre Roger, vicomte de Béziers. Montlaur fut pris par Simon de Montfort en 1210. Il ne reste que quelques vestiges des murs d'enceinte et le portail de "Bissens".

Le quartier médiéval très pittoresque avec ses ruelles étroites et venelles tortueuses, aéré par quelques placettes comme la place de l’Ancienne Mairie d’où l’on découvre la porte de Bissens.

Sur la place principale, la mairie, riche bâtiment construit sous la IIIe république en 1813, présente un bel ensemble dégagé avec l’église et les jardins publics. Ces espaces verts, avec un coin pique-nique, sont d’agréables lieux de rencontre, ombragés durant la période estivale. Un boulodrome permet aux boulistes de pratiquer leur sport favori et d’organiser des tournois les soirs d’été. Un espace de jeux pour les enfants y est aménagé et est très vite assiégé, à la sortie des classes, par les écoliers pour se détendre avant le retour au foyer familial.

 

Pays Touristique Corbières Minervois
Les idées séjours de Corbières en Minervois
Le conseil général de l'Aude
Bienvenue dans l'Aude Pays Cathare
Sud de France : Languedoc Roussillon
Préparez votre séjour en Languedoc-Roussillon sur sunfrance.com
contact | informations légales | sites favoris | plan du site
© Office de tourisme de Lagrasse tous droits réservés 2010
   plan d'accès
   contact
   newsletter
   documents
Concert à l'église Saint Michel Lagrasse
Repas d'Automne Lagrasse
   les actualités
Meteo Lagrasse
Identifiant :

Mot de passe :
mot de passe oublié